Editorial – Anything But An Ugly Week For Online Film Commentary

saut

If last week was an “ugly one for film commentary online”. I’m pleased to report that this one has been a marked improvement. 

I woke to the news that Mark Kermode, the nations favourite film critic™ has made mention of Hope Lies in his new book, the rather ominously titled Hatchet Jobs: Love Movies, Hate Critics. Detailing the manner in the way that film criticism has forever changed in the wake of the democratisation of the post thanks to the internet, Hope Lies comes up in a brief discussion of sites that had captured the attention of readers online. It’s a nice nod, and excitement rings around these quarters this morn.

And every member of my family will be receiving a copy of Kermode’s new book for Xmas…

I’ll no doubt comment further on Kermode’s thesis when the book is published. As regular readers will know, the trials and tribulations of being a writer on film in the 21st century is something I like to harp on about a lot, so I’m eager to see how his thinking compares to my own. I liked his last tome, The Good, The Bad And The Multiplex a great deal.

Today’s Editorial was originally going to focus on a number of disparate topics. The London Film Festival kinda-sorta got underway this week, with the start of the press fortnight that precedes the main festival. I was in last Thursday, and caught a couple of features. One was great, the other not so great, but in an attempt to not overwhelm the site with LFF talk I’ll be saving all related content ’til the actual festival begins.

Following in this years unofficial festival habit of catalogue titles outshining contemporary fare (See. Apocalypse Now at DocFest, Hannah And Her Sisters at IDFest) Thursday was dominated quality wise by the opening night of the ICA’s season on Chantal Akerman. A full round up of the evening is forthcoming , but in brief it was fantastic.

LFF is set to dominate much of October for Hope Lies, but fret not, non-attendees, I’m doing my best to ensure that it ought to be accessible and interesting enough for those outside of the festival’s reach. Before that tho, we have the first Badlands Film Collective screening to look forward to. We’ve got a couple of major announcements to make later this week, which make the exciting events of this week look like an ordinary day at the office.

Adam Batty – Editor

Further Reading –  Hatchet jobs, anonymity and the internet: Being a film critic in the 21st century (indulge me)

This week’s Criticwire Survey – Everyone (Else) Is Wrong. In which I defend my favourite film of my lifetime.

Leave a Reply

